June 11, 2013

  • June Family Letter

    In my June Family Letter I included the dialog about our Memorial-Day camp-out with family and friends, but if you follow this blog, you will see that dialog along with pictures.  So in this update I will just include what has been happening since Memorial-Day.  However, not much hashappened since that weekend. 

    The weatherhas been perfect, my garden is growing and we have already enjoyed lettuce,peas, squash, radishes.  I picked my first dish or raspberriesyesterday. 


    Garden — Raspberries just starting

    First Dish… YUMM


    The Mossytree (Our HOA) pool opened up after Memorial-Day weekend. 
    Les, Heather & kids spent most of the day there last Saturday… getting somewhat sunburned.
    Finn… trying to decide whether to get in or not!


    Since I volunteer to mow the Mossytree lawns, I talked the board into getting a new tractor. 
    This one has a 61″ mowing deck and will really cut down on the time it takes to mow the five acres.
    Saturday while I was mowing, some of the grand-kids wanted to ride with Grandpa.
    This is Heather’s Oscar with me on my new “play-toy”.

    I have also been workingevery day on our remodel, opening up a door from our family room to the newkid’s play-room.  That room used to bethe hot-tub room, but with that sad story behind us, we decided we needed tomake good use of that room.  To get tothat room you either had to go outside from our family room and then in to that room by a sliding glass door,or go in from our bedroom.  Neither ofthose paths made turning that room into a room for the kids to play very attractive,so we decided to knock a door through the wall of the family room and make asmall hallway so entering the new room could be through that.  I have been trying to do most of the workmyself… and since I am not too experienced in framing, things were REALLYslow.  A friend of ours that doesremodeling lost his “real” job and said he would come and help me and that hasreally helped.  I will take this entryand post some pictures on my web for those of you that are interested.


    This shows where we had to remove a window in order to install a widow
    not quite as wide to make room for the new doorway to the hall


    Corner of Family Room before door was cut through.


    New doorway with new window on the left


    Framing in progress


    Working on the framing of the hallway.  New “play-room (old hot-tub room) is through the framing on the left.

     


    Left:  New hallway with door on left going into the play-room
    Right:  New hallway being closed in.


    Sub-flooring ready to go down


    Left:  West wall of play-room closed and covered with vapor barrier ready for siding.
    Right:  My grill is going along this wall, so I decided not to put the “Hardy” siding, but us a
    “Hardy” board instead so when  grease from cooking gets on the wall I can clean it.


    North wall of playroom all closed in and with siding (painting to come later).

    Well, I think this is enough for now.  Take care… all of you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *