May 18, 2013

  • Mother’s Day in Gresham

    I thought I would take a couple of minutes and post some pictures I took on Mother’s Day.  It was a good day… fun to have family and friends over and spend some time visiting and eating good food.  We had 28 people coming over to celebrate mostly family, but Judy Lynn invited Jill (Jill works with Judy Lynn in the library at church), Edie and Craig (Edie and Craig are good friends and Edie is my Choir Director in my calling as Ward Music Chairman.  Kelly came after his work at Lowe’s. I BBQed chicken legs and the rest of the food was brought by family… oh… except Judy Lynn made her brownies that the family likes so well, brownies baked in her Silpat that makes them like small cup-cakes and not mushy and messy to eat. 


    Quite a stack of chicken legs on the grill

    Folks started arriving at around 6:00and lots stayed until nearly 9:00, so we had a good time. Judy Lynn made a card for me to give to her (but I did write a nice note) and I gave her some money so she could buy something. I hoped she would buy herself some clothing, shoes, or something like that, but she says she is going to use it to buy some more Stamp-in Up stamps… and if that is what she wants, that is okay with me.

     
    Left:  Judy Lynn, Finn, Heather, Chad
    Right: Teri Lynn’s face, Jay, Chase, Judy Lynn (Todd and Leslie in background)

     

       
    Jacki, Leslie with Truman, Todd and Finn

     
    Left: Reese (just fell down), Quinn (Hidden by her sister Avie), and Sawyer helping Reese
    Right:  Finn, Avie, Quinn & Reese (fallen down)

     
    Grandkids having a ball on the trampolines… even in the light sprinkling of rain

    Not much has gone on this week. The weather has turned off a little cooler… in the 60s and low 70 during the daytime with a few sprinkles, but not really much rain. Last night I met with a next-door neighbor(well in back of my house in the cul-de-sac that is back there) over at the Mossytree pool-house. We are having to put in a new card-security system. The one we have had there is REALLY old and just stopped working. In order for homeowners to get into the rec-room and then to the pool, they have to use a card system. That way we can monitor who is going in and using the pool as we don’t want folks outside our neighborhood to be in there. This also limits the availability of the pool to anyone that is not current with their dues. Jared(his name) does security for his work and profession with Xerox, so he is getting the equipment for us and helping us put it in. The equipment came in yesterday and we want to open up the pool for Memorial-Day weekend so we need to get hopping to get it installed by then… since it is just a week away.

    The weather has turned of a little cooler and we have had a little rain… not much, just enough that I have not had to water the garden or any of the lawns.  So I have spent a little time working on my hot-tub room to play-room conversion, but BOY is it going SLOW.  As I mentioned last post, I do not know what I am doing when it comes to framing, so I go out and look, think for a LONG time and then MAYBE pound a board into place.  Where I am mostly stuck is where I am going to break the hole in the NE corner of our family room to go out and in to the playroom.  So far on that part, I have just torn things apart.  I am making some headway on the north wall and have the west wall mostly framed.  But it SCARES ME TO DEATH to start tearing into things for fear that I will goof.  I have already goofed a couple of times, but tearing too much wall out of the house would certainly be a problem to have to put back together.  Here are some pictures of the progress… or lack there-of.


    North Wall of room being covered with the OSB boards.
    (I had Chad come over and help me hold the panels until I got them fastened)

     
    With the hole for the window

     
    Starting to cut around the family room window that will be smaller and has to be moved about 6″ to the west.
    This is the part that is scary for me.

     
    West wall of room – almost done framing.  Doorway into family room will be off to the right where you see the bucket.
    I don’t dare finish the framing here until I figure out how far to come out with the hallway so I can connect the walls.
    Here is where I waste so much time THINKING!  I am certainly glad that I am not paying myself by the hour.

    Lastly, here is a picture of Judy Lynn on Mother’s day Showing off the pearl necklace and bracelet that Jeff brought her from Singapore.

    That’s all for today folks!

     

Comments (1)

  • Looks like you are making a little progress. Better to be slow and sure than fast and wrong.  jan

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *