Month: January 2013

  • 45 Years Today

      45 Years Ago today


    Forty-Five years,
    eight GREAT children and
    14-3/4 Grandchildren Later
    I am a BLESSED MAN!


    Happy Anniversary to us!

  • January Family Letter

    It seems like it has been forever since I wrote a familyletter.  Then tonight as I was looking atXanga I realized that I never posted my family Christmas letter so many of youwill not know that we even made it home from SUNNY Arizona.  We finally left Arizona on the 4th December, took two days to make the trip and got home on Thursday the 6th.  That put us way behind for Christmas… puttingup decorations outside (me) and inside (Judy Lynn). We had Chad and Chase come over to help us andthat made it go a lot faster.


    These are the lights I put on the outside this year.  You can kinda see the Christmas tree that Judy Lynn decorated in the middle of the big front-room window.
    The picture on the right was taken after I mowed the lawn and picked up the remaining leaves on the 27th of January.
    Bet you couldn’t do that in Bear Lake… mow the lawn in December I mean!

    We had a good Christmas Season with family and friends.  We had three of our kids that live in Oregonaround for the entire holiday, but Todd, Jacki, Quinn and Avie flew to Tucsonto be with Jacki’s Dad this year for Christmas. We did the traditional Christmas morning, with the kids doingtheir thing and then when they were all finished with their own family Christmas, they all come over to our home to open whatgifts we had to exchange. 


    Left:  Heather’s face, Oscar, Gwen & Randy
    Right: Randy, Teri Lynn, Cort, Chad, Chase, Finn, Leslie, Josh, Reese & Sawyer


    Randy, Teri Lynn & Reese  -  Jay & Heather


    Chad, Chase, Reese & Leslie (BLOSSEMING)


    Then wehave the traditional fondue dinner that is always looked forward to byeveryone.

     
    Fondue meat cooking – The two kinds of cheese dips


    Cort, Leslie, Josh, Heather  -  Kelly & Judy Lynn


    Judy Lynn and I did not go “all out” thisyear like we did last year… remember that it was last year that we got eachother the hot-tub which has cause a lot of problems with Judy Lynn’shealth.  This year I got Judy Lynn andKindle Fire HD and she got me a new Samsung Galaxy SIII cell phone.  I am still trying to figure out many of thefeatures on that phone.  Many times Ihave to have Leslie’s 6-year old Sawyer coach me through things!

    Probably the most exciting even of the month… just today Leslie went into thehospital and had her fourth child and third son and our 14th Grandchild.  Right now his name is “NO NAME RICKER” asthey have not picked out a name for him yet.  He was 8 pounds 8 ounces and 21-1/2 inches long.  He has lots of long curly black hair and is acute little thing.  Remember that Lesliehas all of her children cesarean, so they do not come out all deformed  and hasa perfect shape right from the get-go.  We are so proud of Leslie and Josh and their “growing” family.  We are so glad to have them live close so that we can see them often… almost every day.



    Little “NO NAME” Ricker


    Proud Grandpa
    (Sorry no pictures of the proud Mom & Dad.  Pictures on other cameras and I did not have them available for this posting.)


    Leslie’s Birthday is on the 9th, so we had her “party” at Red Robin’s on Monday.
    I would go down and name everyone, but it would be too confusing, so I won’t.  Just know that we were all there.


    Yesterday I went and got both Sawyer and Quinn from school and brought them home to “PLAY”.
    In no time they had the family room looking like the picture on the left.  Every toy we have here for the kids to play with was out I am sure!


    While Les, Josh and Judy Lynn were all at the hospital this morning, I took care of Sawyer, Finn & Reese.
    I had a cartoon on and it kept Finn and Sawyer entertained, but Reese was just “doing her thing”.
    She hardly sits down for a minute.


    Before I could get Reese dressed, I had to take care of a REALLY BIG problem.
    My instructions to her last night was to not do that to Grandpa.  She must not have listened!


    Judy Lynn is feeling much better and went in yesterday for anotherlung x-ray and we are hoping that her doctor will let her come off her oxygenthat she has been on at night.  The doctor emailed usback today and instead of telling us that everything was okay and back to normal, he turned the tables on us and asked how she isfeeling.  We just wanted him to tell usto take her off the oxygen.  This correspondencewas via email and Judy Lynn does not like to communicate that way, so weemailed back and hopefully the doctor will call back and Judy Lynn can ask allher questions.

    The other news… on top of Leslie and Josh getting their fourth child this week,last Sunday he was sustained as Second Counselor in our ward Bishopric.  Leslie is just glad that we have lots offamily around to help her in Sacrament with all those kids.  But some of you are going through the samething and Judy Lynn did when I was first put in the Bishopric, so you will knowwhat I am talking about.


    I guess that is about all for this month. 
    Love to you all, Judy Lynn & Roger